Glad We Could Contibute to Comcast’s Profit Jump

Here’s a question for all of you who’ve been living on the Island for a while, and get your broadband from Comcast. How’s your speed?

We’ve noticed that the Internet is really slow around here from around 7 to 9 pm every night. At the risk of sounding like a total dweeb, I’m not online at dinnertime every night, but pretty consistently my fiancĂ© and I get online around that time to finish up some work. We also often stream music from Pandora, which we do less and less because of the skips.

Mercer Island Cable

Comcast’s profit last quarter jumped 28%, and they get around $50 a month from us for cable. Our slow downloads and stuttering music make me wonder if they could reinvest some of that to provide a decent quality of service.

Ironically, Comcast uses high-bandwidth services like streaming music and video email to advertise their service.

Cable, of course, has the advantage of theoretically higher speeds. It’s a bigger pipe, but it’s shared with all your neighbors. And we suspected that our educated, Internet-savvy neighbors are also online around those times. We’ve called Comcast twice, and been told to reboot the router, etc. I suspect that’s not the problem. There’s not enough bandwidth on the Island.

Is it just us? How’s your speed?

10 responses to “Glad We Could Contibute to Comcast’s Profit Jump

  1. I live on the south end, and (knock on wood) comcast has had good speeds here for the past few months (10mbit/sec or so).

    We went through a nightmare last year with dropped connections, etc, and eventually comcast came out and replaced a bunch of stuff at the junction box on our street. Since then, all has been well.

  2. I am sorry to hear about the speed issue you are experiencing with your online service. On behalf of Comcast, I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

    I would like to offer my assistance in getting this resolved for you. I have executive contacts throughout the country and I would like to reach out to them so that we could address the issue. If it is okay with you, will you please send me your contact information so that we may investigate further?

    Thanks in advance!

    Sincerely,

    Mark Casem
    Comcast Executive Offices
    mark_casem@cable.comcast.com

  3. We’re Qwest people, getting 1.5M down and .75 up, according to http://www.speedtest.net

    I never completely understood the advantage of cable’s supposedly higher download speeds. Important web sites don’t necessarily peer with you at those speeds, whereas with DSL what you pay is what you get.

  4. Mercer Islander

    I have comcast…it’s been fine recently…lousy last year. When I call them, during really slow or down times, they credit my bill for the bad service.

  5. Mercer Islander

    I just ran the test from Richard. My Comcast shows 13.25M down and 1.2M up

  6. mercerislandblogger

    Mark, thanks for the note from Comcast. I’ll send you my info and appreciate your comment.

    I’ll try Richard’s test when I get home. Still interested in any comments people around the Island have on their service.

  7. mercerislandblogger

    I tried Richard’s test tonight and we were at about 5.6 MB download and 1.4 MB upload. I’ve contacted Mark from Comcast and will let you all know what he says.

  8. Hi Mercerislandblogger,

    I never received your email. Will you please resend it?

    Thanks again for the opportunity to assist!

  9. mercerislandblogger

    Sure, I sent it last night from a yahoo account. Ill send you another again now.

  10. Mercer Islander

    Hi ComcastCares1…are you guys supporting the MI Schools foundation breakfast the same way you support the Bellevue schools foundation lunch? I think that would be great.

Leave a Reply

